Farragut Museum


FM15.logo

Visit us on Facebook at Farragut Museum!


Friends of the Farragut Museum (New Membership Program)

The Farragut Museum has revamped its membership program in 2016! Friends of the Farragut Museum will be an annual renewal program offering five levels with various benefits. 

Support from the Friends of the Farragut Museum will be essential to preserving the heritage of the Farragut community and of its namesake Admiral David Glasgow Farragut. Community members can become a friend any time during the year. This tax deductible donation is accompanied by benefits at the various levels such as a quarterly e-newsletter, members-only exhibit previews, acknowledgement in the museum, special gift and more. Friend levels range from $10 to $500-plus; click here to pay online or visit the Farragut Town Hall to donate by level and become a Friend in person. You can also click the Museum Membership Information link at the top left of this page to download and complete the form and mail with a check or bring in person to the Town Hall.

 
Museum Galleries


The Farragut Museum is a treasure chest of artifacts and photographs, which tell the history of the Farragut and Concord communities. One of the highlights of the museum is the Admiral David Glasgow Farragut collection. Admiral Farragut was born in this area on July 5, 1801.

Farragut was the first commissioned admiral of the United States Navy and is best known for his statement, "Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead." This nationally sought after collection houses artifacts that cannot be seen anywhere else such as Farragut's personal china, uniform ornamentation, family photographs, manuscripts, letters of interest, and a large collection of scrimshaw.

The museum also exhibits artifacts pertaining to the history of local schools, churches, the Farragut and Concord communities, and the Civil War. In addition to the permanent displays, the museum has a gallery dedicated to rotating special exhibits.

Admission to the museum is free.

Memorial Plaza & Civil War Trails Marker

In 2010, a Civil War Trails Historical Marker was dedicated on the grounds of the Farragut Town Hall to commemorate the Battle of Campbell Station fought on surrounding land on Nov. 16, 1863. Also dedicated in 2010, the Farragut Memorial Plaza features a life-plus sized bronze statue, Civil War era cannons on loan from the U.S. Naval Yard, and historical markers with information about Admiral Farragut's life.

Community Heritage Trail

A Capital Investment Program project, the Community Heritage Trail features 11 signs throughout Founders Park at Campbell Station which highlight the historical milestones of the Farragut and Concord areas from the earliest American Indian inhabitants to the founding of the Town of Farragut. The project began as an initiative by Mayor Ralph McGill and was realized by a volunteer group comprised of Farragut Museum committee members as well as community members who worked for more than 18 months researching and compiling information and photos for the signs.

Gift Shop

The Frances L. Abel Gift Shop features a variety of unique items, including gift items; local and Civil War history books; "The Hidden Battlefield" DVDs (WBIR's The Heartland Series); a variety of children's toys; and handmade items from local crafts persons. 



Staff & Volunteers

A professional museum coordinator, in collaboration with a volunteer committee, is responsible for fundraising, exhibits, and museum and gift shop staffing. In addition, the museum arranges special events throughout the year. Those interested in arranging a group tour or becoming a museum docent or gift shop host should call Julia Barham at (865) 218-3377.

Upcoming Special Exhibits and Events

Timeless Toys Exhibit


Aug. 22 - early 2017

The Farragut Museum invites the community to visit “Timeless Toys.” This exhibit will be on display Monday, Aug. 22, 2016, through early 2017 (closed Dec. 24 and 25). This special exhibit will feature items from the Museum’s collection of artifacts as well as items belonging to Museum Committee members.

The exhibit showcases a variety of antique toys, games and dolls dating from the late 1800s through the 1900s. A featured item is the Rice doll house, designed and built in 1929 by local architect Malcolm Rice and a National Architecture Award recipient in 1930. Originally with electricity, the doll house was enjoyed by three generations of the Rice family. Museum committee member Lou LaMarche has loaned several 1940s toys from his personal collection, including toy soldiers, a Rudolph radio and an electric football game. In addition, the exhibit features a 1940s toy steam engine donated by museum volunteer Malcolm Shell. 

Helpful Links